Topic ClosedReplacing Impeller

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Ryan S. View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Replacing Impeller
    Posted: February-09-2005 at 12:45pm
Here is a rookie question if there ever was one. I want to check and probably replace the impeller on my 1997 Ski Nautique (GT-40 engine). I bought the boat this past August and I've never done this before and the articles I've read suggest that nearly all boats have the impeller directly behind the ski pylon. Looking at mine, it is not obvious, at least to me, where the impeller is. I think it's located behind the driver's seat rather than the pylon, but it looks like it will take a little work to get to it, assuming I've identified it's location correctly. Also, I've heard mixed opinions about using a lubricant to install the new impeller. Any suggestions on how to get this thing out and the greese would be appreciated. Thanks
Ryan
Jason View Drop Down
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-09-2005 at 4:44pm
It is inside the raw water pump. On my 82 ski nautique, if you are looking from the front of the engine to the back, it is on the bottom left side of the engine.

The raw water pump will have a pulley on it that you will have to remove. You should also see two large hoses going to the pump.

Once you have the raw water pump off, there is a cover that you remove to get out the impeller. Be sure to look how your impeller is situated before taking it out. Remove it, and lube it up with some soap or armor all and slide it back in so the veins point the same direction as the one you took out.

Jason
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-10-2005 at 5:32pm
Silicon grease can be used during reassembly. Avoid using petroleum based grease other than Vasoline.
64 Skier View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-16-2005 at 6:46am
Are you sure the pulley has to be removed on a '97 model?