Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Holley Secondaries Not closing after WOT.

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
rnaquin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rnaquin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Holley Secondaries Not closing after WOT.
    Posted: July-08-2009 at 7:57pm
Recently completed the rebuild/install of motor on boat.
Atttempting to follow breakin recommendations from previous posts.

4160 carb was rebuilt with new vacuum diaphram.
Boat idles at 800 rpm.

Attempts to back down off WOT runs, the boat won't idle below ~1800 RPMs. The secondaries are staying cracked open a bit.   I shut the motor off, closed the secondaries, re-start and all is well until the next WOT.

Please be patient, I'm NO mechanic.

Is there way to properly adjust this. All the part numbers on the rebuild were correct/matching on the carb rebuild/cleaning and the boat runs pretty good except for this.

I noticed on the passenger side of the carb, there is a connecting rod from the primary to the secondary shaft. This rod attaches to an elongated hole on the secondary shaft (see photo). I assume that this rod serves 2 purposes, 1 to prevent the secondaries from opening too soon and 2, to close the secondaries. I can rotate the shaft and open the secondaries slightly when sitting at idle position causing the increase in rpm.   

So is this rod used to close the secondaries, and can I just adjust the bend in the rod to force the secondaries closed?    Or is there a "more better" way to tune/adjust?    

Thanks
Rick

Luchog View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luchog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-08-2009 at 10:10pm
you need to adjust the air mix screws for each side of the carb. Possibly have them out some.
rnaquin View Drop Down