Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Chevy 350 Counter Rotation Conversion Tech

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
Whitfield View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Whitfield Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Chevy 350 Counter Rotation Conversion Tech
    Posted: July-30-2009 at 2:11am
Hey guys! I'm new to CCfan.

I am hunting for Counter Rotation Conversion Tech

Broken engine / waiting on my replacment / studing what I will need to do to convert.

My boat is not a nautique       But a few of the Nautiques have many similar features (PCM Chevy powered / counter rotation / Velvet drive). The guys here at CCfan are a great bunch. I hope yall don't mind me hanging around asking a few questions and picking up on the learnings of other fellow Ski boat owners. Here are a few pics of my boat.

My boat is a 1984 299 Dixie Super Skier

(Sky blue metal flake with some teal and silve sparkles / off white cap / Matching fiberglass metal flake swim platform ) I bought it on a deal ($1200) with the original (Dixie) Sportsman Trailer.

I am now working to replace the motor. ~ Counter Rotation Chevrolet 350 and was not propery winterized (previous owner).      

Originaly I thought I could pull it, nickle rod weld it, and be good to go, but nothing is ever as simple as it seems. When we welded it the block cracked internally and is now ruined.

So I'm looking to install a new marine gasket set and use my original timing gears / cam / lifters / distributor and convert an automotive engine over to counter rotation marine in an effort to salvage what is left of this summer.

My transplant canidate is a 1989 350 from a Chevy Suburban.

First point of interest: