Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Gel or Paint

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
lakelollie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lakelollie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gel or Paint
    Posted: November-04-2010 at 10:30pm
Hello all, I am new to CCF and want to jump right in! I recently purchased a 72 Skier, it is green and the hull has some nicks, dings, and scratches down to the glass. I plan on fixing all of the blemishes and want to spray gel or paint with awlgrip, alexseal or similar. Which would be better gel or paint (price, ease of application, longevity)? I don't think anyone could ever match the green as some has obviously faded. I love the color and want to keep it original, but it is in dier need of a face lift. I will also be putting in new floor and having the two front seats reupholstered, the rest of the boat looks good and runs good. Bye the way is the proper name for this shade of green? Splash green?
storm34 View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote storm34 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November-05-2010 at 2:00am
Matt,
Post a picture of the boat and color.

How bad is the gel? I have a Skier project that has gotten a buff job and looks great for it's age but it does have it's scratches and blems. I think you will be surprised what a little elbow grease will do to your gel.

If you want a show winner then go with Gel. A good gel guy can match the gel back to original. Paint will look good for a while, but will not last and in the long run you will spend more money. Gel should be a one and done deal if you take care of it and prep correctly.

Welcome to the site, looking forward to seeing what shade of green you have!!!
Project skier the day I bought it.

My Skier after