Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

can a girl do a stringer job?

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
turbo_lesbo View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote turbo_lesbo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: can a girl do a stringer job?
    Posted: April-28-2011 at 1:43am
howdy, all!

i've been lurking around here for a few months now, getting some info
and i'm about to take the plunge and buy the cpes/resin/fiberglass. i
have the floor out of the boat except for the stringers, and i have douglas fir boards waiting in the wings.

before i show you some pics, here's a little about me.

i've spent a lot of time on the water, but this is my first boat.
i bought it so that my girlfriend and i could spend some quality fun
time with her three girls on the nearby lakes.
i work on airplanes for a living so i feel pretty comfortable taking on
this project, but my fiberglassing experience is limited to mostly patches. i've really enjoyed reading this site
and looking at everyones pics so here are some of mine.

i knew she was a project

PO took out all the seats and made some out of composite. i may tweak them a bit before i have them upolstered.

carpet out

everything out

it was wet everywhere.

i wasn't a big fan of the colors so we wetsanded the paint off.

so that's where i'm at right now. i still need to build some stands for
her and order the goo. how much cpes does it take for the stringers? i
want a plywood floor, too. i hate foam after pulling it all out. i like
the jobs i've seen on here that have ribs instead. that's what i'm
planning on. is two gallons going to get it? four? please help!
bkhallpass View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bkhallpass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-28-2011 at 2:00am