NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

do I need an alignment?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Swatkinz View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Swatkinz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: do I need an alignment?
    Posted: June-24-2011 at 11:17am
Admittedly, I'm trying to make myself feel good about not checking the alignment.

This was one of those "to do" items that never got done. I've never done an alignment before. I've had my boat for 1 year with little to no problems (pause while I knock on wood).

I can turn my prop with one finger. Eric, Pete, et al, does the fact that it can be turned with ease mean I'm more likely to be in alignement than if it couldn't be turned so easily? It seems like if it were out of alignemnt, it would feel stiff and want to bind.

Make me feel good about this. I know, I know I should just check it. I've been busy with work, life, kids etc.
Steve
2011 Sport/Air 200
Excalibur 343
2017 Boatmate Tandem Axle Trailer

Former CC owner (77, 80, 95, 88, all SNs)

Former Malibu owner (07, 09)
gun-driver View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gun-driver Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-24-2011 at 11:40am
If anything being able to turn the prop that easy means your cut-less bushing is probably shot. Mine was pretty easy to turn but when I replaced the bushing it was much harder to turn without spraying some lube in.
I would disconnect the shaft and see how much play you have in the strut see if it's centered in the log and then if all is well just do a quick check with a feeler gauge.

This is all assuming the boat is out of the water.
Hollywood View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group