NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Good Podcasts for Gearheads

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Bri892001 View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bri892001 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Good Podcasts for Gearheads
    Posted: October-27-2011 at 1:57pm
Hi All,

So after years of commuting to work by MBTA, I've been commuting to my new job by car for the last 4 months. I used to always read the paper on the T, but now my only entertainment is the radio, and I've got about an hour each way, depending on traffic.

Most stations play the same songs over and over again, and Boston being Boston, almost all talk radio is devoted to sports. Sports interest me only a little, not enough to take day in and day out.

So, I have an iPod setup in my car, and I download a good amount of music. By far, my favorite thing to listen to is the Cartalk Podcast:
http://www.cartalk.com/
They broadcast locally, but are syndicated nationally. There's a lot of fluff in there with the technical stuff but it's very entertaining. It's pretty funny and sometimes informative.

The problem is, they only do one, one hour show per week. I found this other thing called the motor minute, but that's literally only a minute per day. More technical and to the point, I like it a lot but not much there.

I stumbled across a few boating ones, but I had trouble sifting through what was good. And, the video podcasts obviously won't work for this purpose.

Does anyone know of any good podcasts for gear heads? Cars, boat, motorcycles? Even home repair and computer electronic stuff interests me. Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Brian
eric lavine View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eric lavine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-28-2011 at 10:15am