NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Vinyl wrapping?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
W.U.S.S. View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote W.U.S.S. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Vinyl wrapping?
    Posted: February-24-2012 at 2:53pm
I have a 93 SNCB and am considering wrapping my boat with vinyl.

Currently my boat is red, black and white. I really love the color combo, but my red has faded.

Every spring I buff and wax, but it only seams to last for a few weeks, than it has faded again. Also, to compound my problem, the graphics are peeling off one sied of my boat (I think they have been replaced once). I am not able to find replacement graphics.

I wouldn;t mind changing the graphics, but I am concerened that you will be able to see the outline of the old graphics.

I have had some minor experienced in wet sanding, but am concerened I might burn through the color too deep.

Does anyone have experience with vinyl wrapping, good or bad?

Thanks,
Pauly
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-24-2012 at 3:08pm
Vinyl wrapping is expensive and damages easy. I would concentrate on restoring your gelcoat instead.

By the sounds of it, youre not buffing properly to remove the dull or oxidized finish. Waxing is really just meant to protect the hull from the elements, but it can provide a little bit of gloss and shine... but it wont provide long lasting results if applied over a dull surface.

I would recommend reading up on how to restore your gel. Lots of good info on this website, with recommended products and tools to achieve a long lasting look.
Gary S View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah