Forums
NautiqueParts.comCalendar Photo Submission
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

1984 SN 2001 - Holly Carb

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
n5891e View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote n5891e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1984 SN 2001 - Holly Carb
    Posted: April-11-2013 at 11:36pm
I just bought a 1984 SN 2001. Engine runs great however the carb seems to be running very rich. The smell of fuel is very strong. No leaks. New fuel line. I know my way around the engine pretty good however the carb I have no experience. Should I consider rebuilding the carb? Or, what adjustments should I try. Thanks for any help..
Gary S View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-11-2013 at 11:55pm
First thing I'd do would be to call Holley tech support with the list number from the airhorn. That number will be able to tell them what the carb is. If you find that it is a 351 Ford marine carb they can tell you what rebuild kit number you need. Ask them what size jets are supposed to be in it. Get the kit and a 6.5 power valve to replace the one sent in the kit. Some kits do not have the secondary diaphram so ask that too and get one if you need it.Pull it apart,clean it and reassemble it. If it isn't a marine carb,ditch it and get a new one.
69 Mustang HM SS
95 Nautique Super Sport
cphase View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cphase Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-12-2013 at 12:05am