Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Restoring 68 Mustang SS

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
almac View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote almac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Restoring 68 Mustang SS
    Posted: May-19-2006 at 4:51pm
I am new to CorrectCraftFan and I am just starting to restore a '68 Mustang SS and am looking for resources to help me in the process. The boat is all original with two exceptions: I had the floor removed and the stringers replaced, and I had the hull repainted at the same time (about 20 years ago). The boat was then used by my brother for a few years and has been sitting in my barn ever since.

What would be the best starting point?
Does anyone have access to manuals?
Does anyone have drawings or plans for the seats (as both are dry rotted)?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'll post some pictures as soon as I can.   
You're only as old as you think you are.
79nautique View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 79nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-19-2006 at 5:03pm
first is a good cleaning, polishing and waxing. Then you want to give it a complete tune-up after you oil the cylinders to remove surface rust. How long has it been sitting? that will be a driving factor on what to do to the engine, was it porperly winterized before lay-up? getting the engine back into shape maybe the hardest part so we'll need more info so everyone knows where we're starting from.