Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Wooden Correct Craft

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
kmjohn View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kmjohn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wooden Correct Craft
    Posted: November-17-2015 at 6:26pm
Hello,

I am new to the Correct Craft forum so a little introduction may not hurt.
My name is Ken Johnson and I live in Maine. My interest lies with classic wooden boats. I have restored a 1956 Chris Craft Cavalier, finished in 2000. I have just picked up a Correct Craft project boat, it is a 1962 Compact Skier that needs total restoration, well almost.
The man I got the boat from restores boats for a living and he picked up the Compact Skier a few years ago, well he totally rebuilt the entire frame and had no time to finish the project so decided to let it go to someone that would finish it.
I have the rebuilt frame on a trailer, all of the plywood that was taken off the boat to use for patterns, all the running gear- 110 Hp Gray Marine engine, steering wheel (Red metal flake) and linkage, prop and shaft, windshield with side vents, instruments and most everything that came with the boat.. I am missing the lifting rings and some deck hardware.

I have purchased very nice quarter sawn Sapeli plywood for the hull and decks and have completed the scarf joints.

I plan to restore it as close to original as I can but it will be a user boat not a show boat.
I plan to make the deck groves original but will not be painting yellow as I have seen on the brochure for this boat. I will probably be doing the bottom in the original yellow.

I am looking for any help/ info on what was original on this boat such as appolstery type and color, floor covering or paint and color, deck hardware, stain color for the Mahogany..