Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 2007 Ski Nautique starter spins, but doesn't egage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

2007 Ski Nautique starter spins, but doesn't egage

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
SkiDoc View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SkiDoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2007 Ski Nautique starter spins, but doesn't egage
    Posted: February-02-2018 at 3:59pm
After I enter my code on the keypad and press Start, the starter spins but doesn't engage the flywheel (no engine turnover). I don't hear a "click," but I'm not a mechanic. There is no grinding. I have charged the battery (2.5 years old), cleaned all contacts, and banged the starter with a hammer (through a 2x4 piece of wood). Boat has 250 hours. Rainwater filled the bilge during torrential rains and rose up to the starter one year ago. I'm guessing this is a solenoid problem, but I don't have a volt meter to test it myself (and I'm not sure what to test, anyway). Mechanic I spoke to recommended pulling the starter and sending it for testing, possibly have it rebuilt. I think I could remove it myself (I replaced a starter on a car...once), but it's tight quarters and I'm a little worried about screwing up the wiring. Also, I've read about relays and secondary solenoids, but I don't know if those are relevant to my boat. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you!
gt40KS View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote gt40KS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-02-2018 at 6:51pm