Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

351w Timing set-up???

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
gmars70970 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gmars70970 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 351w Timing set-up???
    Posted: May-15-2018 at 3:26pm
I apologise just now if this has been asked a thousand times.

I've "nearly" completed the re-build of my 1980 351w, i'm a newbie to mechanics and pretty much learnt as I've went along.
How do I go about setting the timing up for the first time running ?

Before........

After.......

shierh View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shierh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-15-2018 at 5:04pm
I put #1 at top dead center on compression stroke, use finger over the spark plug hole to verify compression stroke.   The timing scale is on the balancer and the pointer is below the alternator bracket, top dead center should be at 0.   Set timing at 8 degrees.   Re time to 10 after you get it started and warmed up.   

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gmars70970 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-15-2018 at 5:21pm
Originally posted by shierh shierh wrote:

I put #1 at top dead center on compression stroke, use finger over the spark plug hole to verify compression stroke.   The timing scale is on the balancer and the pointer is below the alternator bracket, top dead center should be at 0.   Set timing at 8 degrees.   Re time to 10 after you get it started and warmed up.   

Brilliant thank you 👌👌
Duane in Indy View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Duane in Indy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-15-2018 at 5:48pm
Above is all good info but I will add a few things.