Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Looking for a new 351

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
huey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote huey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Looking for a new 351
    Posted: August-21-2006 at 11:19pm
Hey guys. I'm a rookie to this site. I have been hanging out over at PlanetNautique for a while though.
My '91 Ski Nautique had a catastrophic engine failure this past weekend. We discovered water in the oil and assumed a blown head gasket. We compression tested all of the cylinders and they were fine except for one that had NONE. We pulled the head and... well check out the photo.
So, I'm looking for a 351 block that will work. Any ideas where to look? Can I use an old truck motor? I'm mechanically inclined, but not very experienced. Thanks.
79nautique View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 79nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-21-2006 at 11:35pm
it's down in the cylinder pretty deep and hard to see but I would say you could rebuild the block you have it looks like the side of the piston is gone and maybe you dropped a valve too with the knick at one-two o'clock. If theres no holes or cracks in the block your good to go re-building it just make sure the machine shop is familar with marine engine specs.
eric lavine View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eric lavine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-22-2006 at 7:45am