Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

RWF-1981 SN

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
KLG View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KLG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: RWF-1981 SN
    Posted: September-16-2018 at 4:47pm
Newbie here, and thanks for any help you all can provide. With the boat sitting in the lake, can I remove the lid on the raw water filter to clean out the basket? I thought this was fine, and that I had done it before. HOWEVER, yesterday I tried it and water came gushing into the boat.
thanks,
Keith
"I'm back in the game, baby!"
Gary S View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-16-2018 at 5:25pm
I saw your post and picture on the other site- an 81 over there is ancient   
I'm no 81 expert but to me your strainer does not look oem . Maybe someone here can tell.
If there is no thru hull shutoff and the strainer is below the waterline then yes water will come in. My 69 has no strainer,my 95 does but it is the newer style and mounted higher up in the boat.
69 Mustang HM SS
95 Nautique Super Sport
KLG View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KLG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-16-2018 at 5:35pm
Thanks, ha ha, maybe that's why nobody responded . I am taking on more water than in the past, which is why I was fiddling around with the filter in the first place. Taking on more water is the real issue.
Keith
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-16-2018 at 5:41pm
Keith,