Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Floors and Stringers

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
CraigM View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CraigM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Floors and Stringers
    Posted: January-25-2019 at 1:29am
Hey Correct Craft Fan Members,

I am a new owner of a Correct Craft Skier 1974 with a 318 Chrysler Engine. I am also new to boat restoration. I have a few questions, that I'm hoping to get some advice on. Is there a resource to explain what the correct (original) floor is made from for a 74' Skier? I bought the boat without the floor, just stringers were in place. I want to make it original as possible with a few improvements. Looking at several stringer replacements in Correct Craft Fan, it looks like there are a couple of different stringer layouts for the Skier. One with several (increasing in length) pieces of Douglas fir laminated for the outer stringers. Another, layout I've seen is just the outer stringer without the extra pieces (which is mine). Which is original or best? I am also a little confused about the layers of floor. It looks like in some pictures there is a layer of fiberglass covering the foam and, then layers of fiberglass, or a layer of plywood or both. I have also seen some people drilling holes in plywood floors and pouring in expanding foam. A final question, were there access floor panels to service the steering assembly or drive shaft in a 74' Skier?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Craig P
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January-25-2019 at 9:43am