Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

What do I have here? Port Side Steering

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Lefty805 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lefty805 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What do I have here? Port Side Steering
    Posted: May-13-2019 at 2:49pm
Hello all, and thanks for the add to the group.

I am new to the Correct Craft family, as I just purchased this boat last week.

The title says it's a 1973 Skier, but it looks nothing like the brochure pictures from this website.

Any help in telling me what I've got here would be greatly appreciated.

I was told it was a Buick V6 - 231cc, does that look correct?

Also, if I could find out what might be missing or maybe an aftermarket add that shouldn't be there, that would be helpful.

I pulled the floor in front of the motor, and there is a spot for a pylon, but there was no pylon with the boat. If someone could direct me to one, I would really appreciate it.

The big question I have is why is my steering column on the opposite side of any Correct Craft I have seen on this website and in the online brochures?

Thanks in advance for all your help, I look forward to our ongoing discussions!

Tim

[IMG]
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-13-2019 at 3:15pm
1970 Skier. Fairly odd bird, the 69-70 Skier most commonly came with the I6 Dodge. This one looks to have gotten a leftover LH (standard rotation) Buick V6 more commonly found in the earlier Skylark (both were based on the same 16’1” hull as the Mustang). Port driver location typically followed the LH engine rotation. Both the 1st gen Skier (69-70) and more common 2nd gen (71-75) were no-frills versions of the Mustang, though the 2gen typically got v8’s.