NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

4000 Max RPM w/ 542??

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
davidg View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote davidg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 4000 Max RPM w/ 542??
    Posted: November-05-2019 at 4:08pm
I've been fighting this gremlin for a couple of years. '87 Martinique w/ 351 and 542 prop (with a few rough edges....like it's owner ). I can only pull 4000 rpm max. I did the wire tie test on the secondaries. 4 bbl is working, at least part way. Vacuum is good at ~15-17. Timing is set to ~10-11. Points gapped and cleaned. A new spring put in the distributor advance to replace missing one. All systems good to go that I can think of. Just can't seem to get the old girl past 4,000 revs at full throttle.

I got to thinking that the 542 that is on there may have been reworked to different specs...ie...similar to a 540. I would have thought a 542 would easily spin to 4400 rpm. I can't think what else it may be. Just wanted to see what other opinions may be. I typically don't use it beyond 3,000 rpm anyway, so it's not a big deal. Just bugging me to figure it out. A reworked prop is all I can think it may be. I may try new spark plugs next year, but, can't imagine old plugs would cause this when it seems to run so good at slower rpms.
Gary S View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November-05-2019 at 4:59pm
How do you know the cheap tach in the boat is accurate?
69 Mustang HM SS
95 Nautique Super Sport
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November-05-2019 at 5:08pm
^^what Gary said. How fast per the gps?