Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

prop size and boat speed 1977 fish nautiq

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Buster View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Buster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: prop size and boat speed 1977 fish nautiq
    Posted: September-24-2006 at 9:59am
I have been running this boat for 2 years now and since gas has dramatically increased in price, i have been looking for ways to cut my 10gph fuel expense. I think that the boat isn't propped out right since it runs wot @27knots. What are other people getting out of their boats?
Buster View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Buster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-24-2006 at 1:50pm
forgot to mention the boat has a 351 pcm with the 1.23 to 1 tranny
nuttyskier2002 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nuttyskier2002 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-24-2006 at 2:28pm
What is your tachometer reading at WOT?
95 Malibu Echelon w/Mercruiser 350 Magnum Skier

Former boats:
88 Ski Centurion Tru Trac II
59 Chris Craft Capri (woody)
Buster View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Buster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-24-2006 at 3:21pm
with a clean bottom, i am reading 4700 rpm
77stang View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 77stang Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-24-2006 at 6:39pm
i dont know what those boats should run out at but at 4700 your proped pretty good in regards to rpm. thats a big cut, what do you think itr should run
Buster View Drop Down