NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Shaft seal

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
'88 nautique View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote '88 nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Shaft seal
    Posted: October-20-2006 at 7:16pm
Is the PSS pack seal worth the effort and labor to install? My boat has the old style and I was curious if anyone has changed over? Do you like it or regret it?
If you do replace it should a guy put in a new shaft and coupler at the tranny?

Just looking for input. I'm new with the inboard stuff. Raised of inboard/outboard machines.
79nautique View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 79nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-20-2006 at 8:35pm
it's worth it, no need to replace the coupling or seal unless they are bad.
The Dude View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Dude Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-20-2006 at 10:09pm
Mullet Free since 93
95 Sport
88 Nautique View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 88 Nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-21-2006 at 1:24am
How much $$?
81nautique View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 81nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-21-2006 at 9:06am

I put an OJ Dripless in mine, Similar to the PSS but $50 cheaper.

Although it looks like a simple job to install, removing the coupler can be pretty tough. I would not consider this a must have item unless you just want something to do. BUT if you ever had to replace a shaft I would definately put one on.

Groupie
Groupie