NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

ford 351w compression

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
straylight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote straylight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ford 351w compression
    Posted: October-22-2006 at 8:39am
Hi all,

can anyone help me out with some data about the ford 351w engine. Especially what would be considered as "good" when doing a compression test?

TIA,
Tom
joed View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote joed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-22-2006 at 9:05am
Hi Tom, I'm a newbie at all this, so take my opinion for what it's worth... about 2 cents! ;o)

I believe you'd want to see numbers somewhere around 150 depending on how tired the motor is. But the most important thing is the range of numbers you get across all 8 cylinders.

There is a good thread regarding how to do a proper test... so you could do a search.

HTH

Joe
straylight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote straylight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-22-2006 at 9:20am
Hi Joe,
Originally posted by joed joed wrote:

I believe you'd want to see numbers somewhere around 150 depending on how tired the motor is. But the most important thing is the range of numbers you get across all 8 cylinders.
Joe