Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Gas smell in 88 nautique

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
rmcnautique View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rmcnautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gas smell in 88 nautique
    Posted: February-20-2007 at 10:36am
I have a 88 nautique 2001 and i noticed the other day it had a bad gas smell it has never dont this till then. The exhaust is smoking a little and has a gas smell also. I lifted the hatch and noticed there was a little bit puddle of gas under the carb. Does anyone know what this could be? Thanks
bkhallpass View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bkhallpass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-20-2007 at 11:57am
I'm no mechanic, but the first thing I would check is to ensure that the fuel tubing going into the carb is tight. I've had this problem on two boats where the nut on the fuel tube backed off and was leaking onto the manifold. BKH
Livin' the Dream

79nautique View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 79nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-20-2007 at 3:57pm
also check the bolts that hold the primary and secondary fuel bowls and the mounting bolts to the carb and intake, basicly 14 pls to check. 4 mount, 4 primary, 4 secondary, 2 on the fuel line, the 1" and 5/8"
05 210 View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 05 210 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-20-2007 at 6:17pm
Originally posted by rmcnautique rmcnautique wrote:

The exhaust is smoking a little and has a gas smell also.