Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

’99 Air Nautique is very hard to steer

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
powelwa View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote powelwa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ’99 Air Nautique is very hard to steer
    Posted: May-27-2007 at 11:39pm
I'm a relative newbie to this forum, and to inboard boats in general, and I would appreciate some quidance.

I recently bought a used 1999 Air Nautique with only 38 hours on it. It was in excellent condition and I got a great deal. I've just started actively using the boat and I've noticed that the steering is very hard. It's like trying to drive a car without power steering, but twice as hard. At high speeds, small turns are very easy, but at lower speeds, I have to "muscle" the steering much nore that I would have ever anticipated.

This weekend I had an experienced Nautique skier in my boat (but he was non-mechanical), and he said the steering was way to hard.

Any suggestions???

Thanks in advance,

Walt, LovinMyNatique, Powell
Walt Powell
The Dude View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Dude Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-28-2007 at 1:05pm
Walt, try searching threads on steering in this forum for some ideas. Probably with so few hours, it sat a long time and froze up the steering.

First unhook the steering from the rudder and see how it turns. If it's turns free, then you probably have a rudder issue instead of steering cable. But I'll bet you it's a cable issue. Try getting some grease on the cable where it attaches to the rudder, and also up at the helm. Work it and see if that helps. It made a huge difference in mine this spring. You may end up having to replace the whole cable, which isn't too tough--skidim.com

good luck
Mullet Free since 93