Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

85 2001 LVL Stringer Project

Post Reply Post Reply Page   123 13>
Author
Big Pappa View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Big Pappa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 85 2001 LVL Stringer Project
    Posted: January-28-2008 at 5:34pm
Hey everyone. I have been lurking around here for a while and posted a couple of times, but this is my first project post. I have an 85 2001 that is in great shape it just had a soft spot in front of the pylon and behind the drivers seat as so many of these boats do.

Well this is the year to fix that. I pulled up the carpet yesterday and low and behold most of the drivers side floor has delaminated from the side of the boat and a little over half of the passenger is the same way. The area in front of the pylon is shot and will have to be replaced.

I drilled a 1" hole every 2' down both sides and once I got behind the front of the motor the foam looks dry and clean. I am probably going to go ahead and rip it all up so I can see the condition of the stringers and supports and make sure there is not any water under the foam.

This is creating more work but it is better to fix it right the first time than having to do it all over again in a couple of years.

This is view of my boat.

This is the Drivers side the floor has pulled away between the red lines.

Here you can see how far it pulled away

Here are the holes on the driver side. The red circles are where the foam was wet and nasty looking. Green is where it was clean and dry.

Here is the Passenger side crack.

And the Passenger side Holes

So what do you all think? I am pretty sure I want to pull up the floor to check the stringers and make sure it is all dry under there before I glass it all back together.