NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

'97 SN Oil Pan Drain Plug Welded

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
86ER View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 86ER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: '97 SN Oil Pan Drain Plug Welded
    Posted: December-03-2016 at 2:29am
I bought a remote oil drain kit for my '97 Ski Nautique with a GT-40 engine and the description of the kit lead me to believe that there were clearance issues with the '97 SN. When I got ready to install it, I realized that the drain plug (port side of pan) was welded up.

Was this a common feature on '97 Ski Nautiques from the factory? There is no way that this could have been done with the engine installed in the boat, and I have no knowledge that the engine has ever been removed since it left the factory.
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-03-2016 at 3:24am
I thought remote oil drain kits were standard on Pcm/cc since ~1980.
MechGaT View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MechGaT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-03-2016 at 8:52am
Are you saying that the only way to get oil out of the engine is to suck it up the dipstick? That definitely doesn't sound factory.
'92 Sport Nautique
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-03-2016 at 10:06am
Pat,