Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Fiberglass lay up Schedules

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Skier85 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Skier85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fiberglass lay up Schedules
    Posted: July-31-2017 at 7:13pm
So long time lurker and first time poster. I don't want to start start any forum wars here; but I have been looking at a lot of what people have been posting about lay up schedules for new stringers. I have seen a few of the posters tend to run with multiple layers of CSM its my guess, and then biax mat over the top. Is there a particular logic behind going with the CSM? It would seem it would be less labor intensive to say do 3 layers of 1708 vs 6 layers of CSM? But I am no expert. Im just looking to educate myself as I am about to glass some stringers in myself and was planning to do 3 layers of 1708 with CSM over top to seal them in! But got me second guessing reading a couple other threads. Thanks for the help in advance.
Wisky Badger View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wisky Badger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-01-2017 at 1:14am
Are you using epoxy resin or polyester resin?
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-01-2017 at 9:49am
CSM = chopped strand mat. Had to look up that acronym.