Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

high idle when slowing down

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
weitekampt View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote weitekampt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: high idle when slowing down
    Posted: August-11-2006 at 10:19am
Probably a bad title, but I am having a heck of a time figuring out why I have a high idle (1000-1200)RPM's after I come off a high speed cruise or after pulling a skier. It isn't every time, but 80% or more. I have adjusted everything so the throttle plates are closed when in the neutral position. Maybe there is still a small crack remaining between the throttle plates and the "sides"? I have been fighting this for 3 years now and I am getting a bit tired of it. Plus, it isn't good on the trans at all.

Could anybody tell me where to start looking to solve this problem PLEASE!

Thanks!
1993 SkiNautique ProTec
2009 Boatmate trailer.
1240 hours on meter.
1993 Ski Nautique
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-11-2006 at 10:58am
You might try readjusting your throttle cable as follows:

1. Disconnect cable from carburetor.
2. Place throttle control in forward detent position. I.e. tranny in gear, but at idle speed.
3. Adjust end of cable so that when connected to carburetor the throttle plates remain closed.

Most people do not do step #2 and thus can have problems. Not saying this will fix it, but is where I would start.

You might want to check to make sure the high idle cam, if present, is not sticking. Check for binding of the throttle cable.
GottaSki View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah