Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Carb Dissabley and Rebuid

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
robertbruder View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote robertbruder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Carb Dissabley and Rebuid
    Posted: August-17-2019 at 2:27am
After chasing down some vacuum leaks I decided to go full on and rebuild my carb.
Vacuum Leaks Thread

Here are some pictures of the Carb Disassembley so far. Carb Dissassebly Pictures

Overall, I didn't think it really looked that bad but this is my first time so maybe there is something I am missing.

I did notice some pitting on the valves though..Is this a big concern?

Could this be causing my idle to be high (around 800-1000 RPM)?

I am able to get the engine to start and idle around 600 RPM for 30 seconds but then it stumbles .and dies.

I have 2 or 3 other carburetors from past boats that are in need of a rebuild, so I could probably replace that entire plate. The biggest effort would be driving over to my dad's shop about 1.5 hours each way, so it would take a half a day to get the parts and half a day to reassemble. Is it worth the effort or can I just reassemble as is?
Current: 1988 Sierra Supreme
Past: 1986 Correct Craft Martinique, 1984 Ski Supreme, 1984 Bare Foot Nautique
KENO View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KENO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-17-2019 at 8:03am
I wouldn't call the butterflies a show stopper but it looks like it was time for a good cleaning/overhaul

I don't really think the pitting would be affecting the idle.

Is it safe to assume you got a rebuild kit that has the right parts for your list number?