Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Alternator wiring & engine breaker question

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Wilhelm Hertzog View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wilhelm Hertzog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Alternator wiring & engine breaker question
    Posted: May-03-2020 at 4:15am
Just noticed that my alternator output wire was hooked up to the starter solenoid, and not to the engine breaker - see below.

I'm a novice to these things, so I was wondering about the following:

1. Am I right that the engine breaker protects everything other than the starting circuit? So every wire other than the thick battery cables going from the battery to the solenoid, and from the solenoid to the starter, is protected (including the wires from the breaker to the solenoid and from the ignition/neutral safety switch to the solenoid)?

2. The way my alternator is hooked up currently means my alternator output wire is not being protected by the engine breaker? I'm assuming there is a reason why the wiring diagram shows the output wire should be hooked up to the 'safe'(?) side of the breaker, and not directly to the alternator.

Thanks for the help and guidance!
1982 Ski Nautique PCM351W RR II Velvet Drive 10-17-003 1:1 II PerfectPass Stargazer
Do not go gentle into that good night. Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-03-2020 at 7:52am
What size is the alternator? I'm wondering if a large output alternator was installed, the breaker was never up sized, kept popping due to a load so then the breaker was by passed?

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah