NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

check your pylons for safety

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: check your pylons for safety
    Posted: November-24-2006 at 6:00am
I know it’s easy to criticize other people’s work but in this case I will. I’m a professional engineer and wonder what the Correct Craft engineers (or rather lack of) were thinking about when they designed the mounting of the pylon to the keel. I removed the pylon to replace the carpet on my 77 Tique and found that the carbon steel pin that engages to the socket gla$$ed to the keel was almost completely rusted off. The female socket sits verticaly in the bottom of the boat and holds water. Besides not using stainless, it would have been a simple redesign to invert this mounting so the male pin was gla$$ed to the keel eliminating the water trap and the female socket was in the pylon.
The repair involved replacing the pin in the bottom of the pylon with stainless, cleaning up the socket on the keel, (most of the rust was on the male pin) and then after coating both the pin and socket with grease as a release agent poring in a mix of epoxy/ gla$$ fiber in the socket. The pylon was then installed before the epoxy cured.
I don’t know what the current pylon mounting technique is but think everyone should periodically check the condition. I know in the 60’s the pylon was bolted to the keel and then simply went through a hole in the floor. I would hate to see a pylon along with a piece of the floor go flying out of the boat.

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
The Dude View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member