Forum Name: Engine Repair
Forum Discription: Engine problems and solutions
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=40797
Printed Date: May-14-2024 at 11:28pm

Topic: Vinegar Flush Help
Posted By: LiquidObsession
Subject: Vinegar Flush Help
Date Posted: April-05-2017 at 11:40am
I've posted this on a couple of other forums however word on the street is that THIS is where the REAL mechanics roam. πŸ˜‰ True story.

My issue? Well last summer I had an overheating problem that plagued me all season.
Last season's threads:
http://www.mbboatown...lp-overheating/

http://www.mbboatown...emp/#entry60382

2004 330hp Excalibur 5.7L

I've narrowed the cause down to the exhaust manifold/risers. I'd like to try doing a full vinegar flush to see if that solves my issues before taking the whole exhaust manifold apart and dealing with that potential chaos. (I'm NOT a mechanic... also not an idiot... but not a mechanic)

Side note: my mechanic cannot figure out the issue either... he's top shelf. Unfortunately he charges top shelf prices as well. $$$ He and I checked/replaced everything up to the exhaust last season so I know there are no issues with wrong/faulty parts up to the exhaust.

My question... cuz I'm crazy paranoid... is how exactly, step by itty bitty step, do I do it? I'll be doing it myself with no help so the more info you guys can lend the better my odds of success. I'd also like to post a detailed thread complete with video/photos after (unless it already exists) for others like myself so they don't need to go through what I'm currently going through at the moment.

so...
-what holes do I open...
-what holes do I close...
-what holes do i pour into...
-particular type of vinegar...
-how much vinegar, how much water...
-fake a lake or no fake a lake...
-what parts do I remove...
-what parts do I replace...
-how long do i do it...
-how will i know if it works...
-warning signs, things to watch out for...
-run engine, don't run engine...