Forums
NautiqueParts.comCalendar Photo Submission
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hull restoration - advice needed

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
kraftchick View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kraftchick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hull restoration - advice needed
    Posted: June-10-2008 at 2:18pm
Folks,

I've been browsing though all the forums looking at some of the restoration work that has been done...amazing is all I can say !! I've got a red/black on white '91 SN that I thought was done for, I had no idea I might be able to get that rich color back, and had just resigned to maybe having it painted some day. TRBenj (sp?)...I noticed you have the red/black on white '90 SN...it looks fantastic...I want mine to look like that again! I have zero exterior maintenace experience, other than waxing a car a few times with turtle wax. In the research I've done it, and with the color fade that I've got (sorry I don't have a picture right now), I'm almost certain it's going to be a wet sand job. I saw several talking about doing it by hand and some using DA's. Doing anything with a buffer or DA without the experience scares me a little for fear of ruining the gel completely. However, I'm pretty resourceful and can pick things up pretty quickly once I understand the pertinent information. Can anybody give me some tips on how to start, how to determine whether by hand or DA/buffer would be best. I want to start on the hull (deck is in pretty goog shape, just needs to be compounded and polished I think). What is involved in wet sanding...how do you do it ?
nick85sn View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nick85sn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-10-2008 at 4:11pm
This link might help.

Wet Sanding the 80's Hull

Nick
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah