NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

starting my boat on land

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
adiocassette View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote adiocassette Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: starting my boat on land
    Posted: July-04-2010 at 10:08pm
hey, i just bought a 78 ski nautique, i've always been a fan of the older SN's and finally was able to get one. Im very new to inboards, and was wondering how do i start it without it being the water without causing damage?i've read a few different things but nothing i've read has really explained it to well. If someone wouldnt mind breaking it down for me. its a 351. Im new to this site but already love it. Thanks in advance guys. and i've read you guys love pictures so i'll get some of the boat up shortly. thanks.
62 wood View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 62 wood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-05-2010 at 12:03am
Welcome, not sure on a 78, but if you have a single water intake to the raw waterpump, you can hook a garden hose up to the intake side of the pump. You need to be careful not to collapse/suck shut, the garden hose if you rev the motor up too much. This method also does not "test" the water pump, as it forces water into the system.

To check a pump, you can fill a large container (like a 55 gallon drum) with water. Then insert the intake hose in the container. This way will make the water pump do the work.

Do you have pics of your boat? Where you located?

64 American Skier

62 Classic..
73 Ski Nautique
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote adiocassette Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-05-2010 at 12:17am