Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Marine Electrical

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
64 Skier View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 64 Skier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Marine Electrical
    Posted: February-08-2004 at 2:56am
I'm new to the Correct Crafts and have an old '64 Skier. Hooked on the pull and noise and now we own two...the second is a '72.

The 64's Engine has been completely re-built with a new stringer/glass and an aluminum engine frame from the front seat to the rear. For dependability I "single" wired the starting system using a newly re-built alternator, basically ridding the boat of the starter solenoid (starter has one!), the external voltage regulator and the fuse link. This also decreased the length of the battery cable. Original starter was re-built. A new MSD distributor, plug wires and coil as well in adddition to new gauges and dash wiring. The alternator was from a Chevy and not a marine part.

I also added an aluminum high rise and Holley 600 CFM also not a marine part.

Is this inherently safer than the original design that has wiring running all over the engine? Any Carb concerns?
64 Skier
66" HO VTX and 67" HO Triumph
71CC
SS-201 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SS-201 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-08-2004 at 8:39am