NautiqueParts.comCalendar Photo Submission
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Exhaust - how much is too much?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
CCFcourt View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CCFcourt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Exhaust - how much is too much?
    Posted: May-14-2013 at 12:38am
I have a 94 ski nautique. Almost 2 years ago I had to replace the exhaust hoses that connect from the engine risers to the muffler. (The engine had gotten too hot and caused them to collapse... that problem was no fun, but has been corrected - change those impellers yearly!)

When replacing the hoses, I noticed that the intake extension on the muffler was a bit shorter than expected (though I have little experience with this). I did think I was able to make a decent connection between the hose and muffler port and clamped it down snug.

Over the last year we've noted exhaust smell in the cabin of the boat. We first thought it was the wind blowing it back in on us. Then, I thought maybe I needed to run the blower more, so kept it on the entire time the engine was running and at least 5-10 minutes after the engine stopped. The exhaust smell would always return in the cabin.