Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

'77 Trailer Bearings

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
diggit View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote diggit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: '77 Trailer Bearings
    Posted: July-30-2013 at 1:55am
Hello experts!

My '77 trailer has a wheel bearing that is throwing grease all around the inside of the wheel. Outside is nice and clean. I did some searching on the forum and found some good info but all that I found assumes at least a basic knowledge of the bearing setup for these trailers. I, however, am a complete newb when it comes to trailer bearings. I know bicycle wheel bearings but have never done any work on an automotive wheel bearing.

What's the best way to diagnose?

Jack up the trailer and remove the wheel... then??

Thanks!
Dug
'93 Ski Nautique Black/Teal
'77 Ski Nautique. Loved it. Let it Go.
OverMyHead View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OverMyHead Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-30-2013 at 2:13am
Sounds to me like a bad inner seal. I recommend you attach the trailer to a vehicle while jacking it up to keep it from spinning and dropping on you. Pull the cap and then take apart what you see and tell us what you find. Its very similar to the bike bearings, but the bearings are not loose and should not spill out everywhere unless they are completely toast.
For thousands of years men have felt the irresistible urge to go to sea, and many of them died. Things got better after they invented boats.
1987 Ski Nautique

diggit View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote diggit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-30-2013 at 2:25am
Awesome! Great suggestion and I shall.

Thanks!
'93 Ski Nautique Black/Teal