Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Overheating Problems

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
BooneLakeMisfit View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BooneLakeMisfit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Overheating Problems
    Posted: June-22-2021 at 12:05pm
Hello all!

Long time lurker, but finally created an account. I am still learning how to post, so please forgive me if this is not the correct way. I have searched all over the forum and cannot find someone with my exact problem. To start from the beginning, I have a 1984 Ski Nautique with a 351W. I bought the boat from a friend in March, 2020 with 323 original hours. The boat is in great shape and ran well the first few times I put it in the water. When the weather got hot here in Tennessee (roughly July), the boat started getting to about 180 and and would sputter like it was not getting fuel. After a couple of minutes of running rough, the boat would die and would not start for 30 minutes to an hour of sitting. It would try to turn over, but once again it acted like it was not getting any fuel. After sitting, the boat would start right back up and run fine the remainder of the day. 

Taking opinions from other Nautique owners, and posts from CCF, I tried preventative things that I thought could be causing the issue: New carb, new coil, impeller, installing fan under doghouse to try and keep it cool. After all that, I struggled with the same issue throughout all last year. At the end of last year, I took it to a local boat mechanic who is familiar with older Nautiques. He sent me many videos of the boat going up and down the lake with no issues at all. He could not get the boat to replicate any of my problems. This was the last time my boat was used for the year before being winterized.