NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Prop help for my Southwind on steroids

Post Reply Post Reply Page    <12
Author
MrMcD View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrMcD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-17-2024 at 1:35pm
No problems with the prop logic, I struggle with the 1/4" clearance between the prop and hull, that just seems like a problem in the making?   I would feel better if it was at least 1/2" clearance but I am no prop expert.
DenDen View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DenDen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-21-2024 at 11:29pm
It seems that I either need a 430 13 x 13 or a 474 13 x 12 5/8.
Both at .080 cup.
What is the expected RPM difference between a 1 inch change in pitch?
If it is as low as 200 RPMs, then these two props are basically the same. If it’s as high as 1000 RPMs, then the difference between these two props is 300 RPMs.
My understanding is by changing the cup. You could turn either one of these props into the other.
So my big question is why do they make so many props so close together?
I am still confused, but getting close.
Is it better to start with a big prop and trim it down or start with a little prop and build it up?

JoeinNY View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JoeinNY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-22-2024 at 5:26pm
Originally posted by DenDen DenDen wrote:

It seems that I either need a 430 13 x 13 or a 474 13 x 12 5/8.
Both at .080 cup.
What is the expected RPM difference between a 1 inch change in pitch?
If it is as low as 200 RPMs, then these two props are basically the same. If it’s as high as 1000 RPMs, then the difference between these two props is 300 RPMs.