NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Stringer Repair

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Pgaski View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pgaski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Stringer Repair
    Posted: October-12-2007 at 7:52pm
I just discovered a section of my stringer is rotted. I remember someone talking about being able to cut the top of the stringer cap off and filling the void with some type of epoxy.
Riley View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Riley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-12-2007 at 8:12pm
I have used an epoxy for firming up a soft floor. It's called Git Rot, and works pretty well. You drill holes and squirt it in. It gets solid. It's a temporary fix, although I've been nursing this floor for over 10 years. I'll have to pay the piper sooner or later, as the rotted section is much larger now, than when I started using the Git Rot.
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-12-2007 at 8:56pm
Pg, Riley is absolutely correct that it is a temporary fix at best. The wood next to the git rot epoxy will rot faster. It is a cancer that must be completely cut out sooner or later. The biggest danger in doing it later is rotted stringers can cause engine / shaft misalignment which in turn can cause big time transmission problems. What is the boat, where is the rot and how much of the stringer is gone?

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
Pgaski View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pgaski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-12-2007 at 9:04pm