Forum Name: Boat Maintenance
Forum Discription: Discuss maintenance of your Correct Craft
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12250
Printed Date: September-29-2024 at 3:33pm

Topic: Winterizing my PCM inboard
Posted By: engrguy
Subject: Winterizing my PCM inboard
Date Posted: October-25-2008 at 11:09pm
I have an older Moomba with a 351 ford pcm. I talked to the local boat repair guy who works on them about winterizing it. He told me to pull the plugs on the exhaust manifolds and one on each side of the block. I pulled the manifold plugs and out come water so I moved to the block plugs. But when I removed the acorn nut on the drivers side towards the rear of the engine the bolt it was attached to disapeared. I removed the plug towards the front on the engine on the same side and water came out. I pulled the plug on the passenger side but not the acorn nut and water came out. My question is what is the deal with the missing bolt on the drivers side? And what do I do about plugging that hole back up now that the bolt or stud is gone? Suggestions please?

Replies:
Posted By: 8122pbrainard
Date Posted: October-25-2008 at 11:38pm
eng,
There is only one block drain on both the port and starboard side of the engine so I don't know what the acorn nut was that you removed. Can you post a picture or maybe one of our other members will know exactly what it is.

You also need to drain the "J" tube on the front of the engine. Here's a picture:

The last drain point is the oil cooler. This can be done by simply removing the water hose off the bottom. Here's the picture of the typical trans oil cooler:

Photos courtesy of Tim (TRBenj)

-------------
/diaries/details.asp?ID=1622" rel="nofollow -

54 Atom

/diaries/details.asp?ID=2179" rel="nofollow - 77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<

Date Posted: October-25-2008 at 11:47pm