Print Page | Close Window

wakeboard with a ski rope

Printed From: CorrectCraftFan.com
Category: General Correct Craft Discussion
Forum Name: Ski, Ride and Foot Talk
Forum Discription: Share photos, techniques, discuss equipment, etc.
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=25710
Printed Date: September-27-2024 at 10:19am

Topic: wakeboard with a ski rope
Posted By: cragginshred
Subject: wakeboard with a ski rope
Date Posted: April-24-2012 at 3:45am
How crucial is it to have a wakeboard rope? Can I use my ski rope? What will I notice the most? Also until I get a skylon extension pole should I try wakeboarding off my ski pylon or the back of the boat (95sport nautique).

Replies:
Posted By: Dreaming
Date Posted: April-24-2012 at 3:55am
I am no expert, but from what I understand, wakeboard ropes are static, and don't stretch.   Ski ropes have some stretch to them. Yes, you can use a ski rope for WB'ing how much it affects you will depend on your skill level and proficiency.   If you have lots of time with either rope, you'll probably notice a difference, if not, you probably won't notice anything at all.   I would pull off of the pylon for all events.    

Posted By: MattB
Date Posted: April-24-2012 at 6:37am
If you are just starting to get up on a wakeboard its not crucial but I would really not waste much time before you switch to a non-stretch line. On many of the tricks (even basic tricks) you are building up line tension ready for a release, you can't do this (easily) and keep the line under control if you have a line that stretches.

Its not impossible but for the cost of a line there is no point making things difficult for yourself the early progression in wakeboarding can be frustrating enough anyway.

-------------
http://www.correctcraftfan.com/diaries/details.asp?ID=6102" rel="nofollow - 2001

http://uksn2001.blogspot.com/" rel="nofollow - SN2001 Blog

Posted By: fanofccfan
Date Posted: April-25-2012 at 1:57am