Forum Name: Engine Repair
Forum Discription: Engine problems and solutions
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=31174
Printed Date: October-08-2024 at 7:26pm

Topic: New Prop install question ...
Posted By: damonwells
Subject: New Prop install question ...
Date Posted: August-12-2013 at 5:14pm
I just installed a new prop and hopefully properly used lapping / grinding compound. What is a good trick to hold the shaft in place without spinning while rotating the prop back & forth with forward pressure until there isn't much grit left to the compound ? Thanks, cheers, John

Replies:
Posted By: ArtCozier
Date Posted: August-12-2013 at 6:42pm
Maybe I'm a careless boat mechanic, but I betcha over the 49 years that I have messed with inboard boats, I've probably installed a thousand props, and, except for an unlimited hydro (9000 RPM) I've never lapped a prop to the shaft. I have occasionally used Dykem Blue to see whether there is a high spot if there was a vibration problem.
Art

-------------
"Art"

Posted By: boardersdad
Date Posted: August-12-2013 at 7:05pm
Many common questions are addressed in the: http://www.correctcraftfan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=27356&title=ccf-faq" rel="nofollow - CCF FAQ .

This thread covers http://www.correctcraftfan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12866&KW=lapping&title=proper-prop-installation" rel="nofollow - prop lapping .

Date Posted: August-12-2013 at 7:07pm
btw, I lapped my prop onto the shaft and I'm happy I did. Really improved the contact on the taper, which is what transfers all the propeller force to the shaft.

Steve

Date Posted: August-12-2013 at 8:00pm
Thanks Steve ... I have and used that article, excellent. Perhaps I missed it, but I didn't see anywhere in there a good suggestion on how to keep the prop shaft spinning while lapping ? Cheers, John

Posted By: baitkiller
Date Posted: August-12-2013 at 8:06pm