Forum Discription: Engine problems and solutions
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=34296
Printed Date: October-08-2024 at 8:39am

Topic: white and dark smoke behind boat
Posted By: wakespirit
Subject: white and dark smoke behind boat
Date Posted: August-01-2014 at 5:03pm
Dear all,

I have an issue with my ski nautique correct craft of 1990.
It has a PCM FORD engine and a HOLLEY carburator.
During the last 3years I have a peoblem I am not able to splve on my boat, hoping you can help me.

When my boat is in Idle speed, I have a big amount of white smoke at the back of the boat, and when I start to put some gaz, I am big dark smoke.

I could not solve that problem. I have been told it could be a too rich fuel coming in the carburetor but i have no experience to know exactly.

I have seen that on the HOLLEY carburator there is 1 screw on each side to addjust idle fuel mixture.

Could it be that?

If yes how can I adjust those correctly

Thanks for help
Regards

Replies:
Posted By: Hollywood
Date Posted: August-01-2014 at 5:10pm
You should find a Holley book or manual before making any adjustments, or find a mechanic who will tune the carb on the water, not his workbench.

-------------

Date Posted: August-01-2014 at 5:12pm
Youz think this could be a carburator trouble this white and dark smoke ?

Posted By: Tim D
Date Posted: August-01-2014 at 5:18pm
The air adjustment on the sides, screw in till it runs rough (starts to die down)and the back out a turn and a half.

-------------
Tim D

Posted By: Gary S
Date Posted: August-01-2014 at 5:22pm
Yes. Since your boat is a 90 and if it still has the original carb on it, it could be a bad power valve. It wasn't until 92ish that there was a check valve installed to prevent backfires from damaging the power valve. You can check for that by turning those idle screws in,if it stalls the valve is good. If it keeps running that's your trouble.

-------------