Forum Name: Engine Repair
Forum Discription: Engine problems and solutions
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4888
Printed Date: September-27-2024 at 10:38am

Topic: RTV okay to use on carb?
Posted By: Yak3
Subject: RTV okay to use on carb?
Date Posted: September-29-2006 at 4:05pm
So I had this high idle problem and tried spraying carb cleaner around the base of the carb with no noticeable difference. So out of other possibilities, I took the carb off and used red rtv to seal the metal to the gaskets. I called a friend of mine and he said it will work for now, but the gas will eat away at it. Is there any recommendations for sealant for the carb?

Replies:
Posted By: Hollywood
Date Posted: September-29-2006 at 4:26pm
I foresee 79 having a field day with this one...

-------------

Posted By: joed
Date Posted: September-29-2006 at 4:27pm
I believe your answer is new "felpro" gaskets. I'm just a newbie but I remember reading something about those gaskets being superior. I'm sure more experienced members will chime in.
HTH... Joe

Posted By: Jim_In_Houston
Date Posted: September-29-2006 at 4:34pm
Do not use gasket sealant on your carb gasket. Use a good Felpro gasket. Do not use a thin gasket or a Mr. Gasket gasket.

-------------
Happy owner of a '66 and a '68 Mustang

Posted By: Yak3
Date Posted: September-29-2006 at 5:08pm
i'm ordering the gaskets now, just to be thorough, the gasket between the plenum and the spacer should be the same as the gasket between the spacer and the carb correct?   

...79 has been helpful to many people. I haven't seen him once be directly derogatory to anyone. I posted on here cause i didn't know. I thought that's what this forum was about...

Posted By: tommer12
Date Posted: September-29-2006 at 7:23pm