Forum Name: Boat Maintenance
Forum Discription: Discuss maintenance of your Correct Craft
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=49356
Printed Date: May-17-2024 at 10:42pm

Topic: '77 Ski Tique Fuel Level Sensor
Posted By: txleadfoot
Subject: '77 Ski Tique Fuel Level Sensor
Date Posted: October-18-2020 at 4:13pm
I have the fuel tank out and the fuel level sender removed.  Can someone tell me the best way to test it?  I'm getting an Ohm range of .02-.27 when grounding to the chassis of the sender, and the power probe to the top screw housing while moving the wand full range.  Forgive me, I am not an electrical expert!

Replies:
Posted By: 8122pbrainard
Date Posted: October-18-2020 at 4:32pm
Shaun,
The most standard full to empty Ohm range for a fuel gauge and sender is 33 to 240. There are others but I'd say you should have the 33 to 240. Did you move the arm to get the reading? But, it sounds to me by the Ohms you are reading that a new sender is in order. 

-------------
/diaries/details.asp?ID=1622" rel="nofollow -

54 Atom

/diaries/details.asp?ID=2179" rel="nofollow - 77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<

Posted By: KENO
Date Posted: October-18-2020 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by txleadfoot txleadfoot wrote:

I have the fuel tank out and the fuel level sender removed.  Can someone tell me the best way to test it?  I'm getting an Ohm range of .02-.27 when grounding to the chassis of the sender, and the power probe to the top screw housing while moving the wand full range.  Forgive me, I am not an electrical expert!

I guess the natural question would be ...............what did the gauge read before you took things apart?

With readings like that it should have read pegged on Full all the time when the boat was running.

Are you saying that one ohmmeter lead is connected to the threaded terminal itself and the other to the plate with 5 mounting holes in it?   Just checking Wink

Date Posted: October-19-2020 at 3:40pm