NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Bilge pump installation

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
GrandSlam View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GrandSlam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bilge pump installation
    Posted: May-15-2006 at 3:18pm
Hi guys, allow me to introduce myself, I am a new member had have just recently purchased a ’89 Fish Nautique. Although this is my first small boat, I have over 30 years of boating experience, but mostly on convertibles. This Fish Nautique is a project type boat and I can use your help and experience. As I have scanned this site I have already picked up many helpful hints. So thanks to all. My current project is to install another bilge pump, somewhere in the engine compartment. My boat has a pump in the stern and I believe when new the boat had a pump in the engine compartment as well. If so the prior own(s) remove it. I was thinking of installing a Rule – Mate style pump but I understand that a remote pump such as Par was used, if so based on your experience what type is the best way to go. Thanks in advance.
Jerry Troy

USCG Master, 100GT

1989 23' Fish Nautique

1992 47' Jersey SF
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-16-2006 at 9:47am
Welcome to the board! Unfortunately, I am unfamiliar with a Par pump. However, I would not worry about what was originally supplied with the boat and use what you are comfortable with. I would think a conventional bilge pump would work fine. Simply glue the base screen to the bottom of the boat and wire it to the existing switch via a fuse or a seperate switch if you want to be able to run the pump individually. I suspect individually makes more sense.
rmcdonald View Drop Down
Groupie