Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Am I screwed??

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
crooney70 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crooney70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Am I screwed??
    Posted: May-18-2006 at 12:32pm
I just bought a 1979 Ski Tique (on May 8th) for $3000. I am a novice at inboards. Everything seemed ok with the boat when we tested it in the water and the seller said everything in it was solid. The engine sounded great and the floor solid as well. Just needs lots of tlc and a good cleaning(the hull especially) Well as I am beginning to clean the inside, I have noticed the fiberglass covering the stringers is craked all along the top and water has rotted out the stringers I am almost certain. This is now a project boat! That is not what I wanted, and especially for $3000! I did not know what to look for to see if stringers were solid until looking around in the forums here. Man do I now feel stupid! Do I have any recourse with this guy? What should I do? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
crooney70 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crooney70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-18-2006 at 12:44pm
Me again. This guy had to know the stringer system was rotted out. I mean I am a novice and it only took me a week to figure it out. He owned the boat for 3 years. I mean, I would not sell it, and fail to inform people of its true condition.
bkhallpass View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bkhallpass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May-18-2006 at 2:14pm
Tough question to answer. As to whether you have recourse, it will depend upon your state and local laws.