Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Can I replace a 351 with a 302 in 1993

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
Pastor Ken Mahan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pastor Ken Mahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can I replace a 351 with a 302 in 1993
    Posted: June-03-2015 at 12:57pm
I am a pastor who was given a 1993 Ski Nautique with a blown engine. Grateful for the boat yet challenged with the repairs. Can I replace the 351 with a 302? I'm told the 302 is easier to find, easier to maintain and cheaper on gas. Any advice sincerely appreciated! Pastor Ken
Ken Mahan
quinner View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote quinner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-03-2015 at 1:20pm
Welcome Pastor!
First thing you need to determine is if the 93' is a Standard, plain, all white & no vinyl on motorbox version or not, as I believe those were right hand rotation, aka bacerds running.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pastor Ken Mahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-03-2015 at 1:23pm
I'm told it is a Windsor reverse. Does that answer your question?
Ken Mahan
Orlando76 View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Orlando76 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-03-2015 at 1:33pm
I think you're better off sticking with the RR 351 Windsor. You won't see a difference in fuel, perhaps even more consumption with a 302 in that "big" of a boat. Plus sticking with a 351 RR you can keep the parts you have, switching to a 302 would mean buying more parts. If what you have is a RR then you must have a scrappy edition? Do you know what's blown on your current engine?