NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

76 Ski Tique Floor/Stringer Replacement

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
JDiggs View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JDiggs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 76 Ski Tique Floor/Stringer Replacement
    Posted: December-18-2008 at 4:13pm
I have to replace the stringers and therefore the floor also in a 1976 Ski Tique I recently purchased. As a disclaimer, I am lazy by nature, I have a very limited budget for this project and I have no boat repair experience. Therefore, I am not trying to achieve and don't expect my results to compare to some of you guys awesome and thorough work. I don't want to do this again though and would like to do any maintenance and repairs that would be much easier while the boat is torn apart.

Here's a few pics of the floor, one main stringer is 90% rotted out, the other is ok. The secondary stringers are 50% rotted in the rear.

I've got a couple of questions, but I'll post those shortly. Any suggestions/comments/help are welcome. I really appreciate all the great info on this site, I wouldn't be able to do it without it.

Thanks in advance

TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-18-2008 at 4:38pm
Jeremy, Im glad youve decided to tackle the project. From what I can tell, it needs full stringer replacement pretty badly! Great move on taking out the motor and other hardware- that will make it much easier tow work on.

There have been several good structural threads on here over the last few years, so hopefully youve done (or will be doing) your research. No experience necessary- we were all beginners at one point!