Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

86 Nautique Trans slip...nothing in forward

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Nate M View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nate M Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 86 Nautique Trans slip...nothing in forward
    Posted: August-10-2012 at 6:59pm
So I'm working to solve a trans issue in a 1986 Nautique 2001 with 351. The boat idles and plows forward in neutral? When put into gear the engine just revs...flued levels are good. In reverse the trans grips right up and moves in reverse as it should????

What are the repair options for these transmissions? I am brand new to Nautiques but have been a long time fan and am not sure about these trans and what a full service overhaul takes? I am mechanical and work on my own vehicles but not sure if this thing takes special tools or what? Where can parts be sourced?

Thanks,

Nate
Dreaming View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dreaming Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-10-2012 at 7:12pm
check out Fantastic finish marine,   its about ~900 or so to have the trans rebuilt. once they start to slip it's all over, and they need new parts.    Eric Lavine has been a contributor on this site for a long time and is well respected for his trans rebuild skills.    Very few people who attempt a rebuild by themselves have succeeded, and there are some pretty mechanical guys on this site.   If you do decide to rebuild yourself, you can get parts at Discount inboard Marine (skidim)

Here is a link for FFM http://fantasticfinishmarine.net/
Nate M View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nate M Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-10-2012 at 7:18pm
Thanks Dreaming!